Three Stars from UFC 132: Cruz/Faber, Ortiz and Condit

Three Stars from UFC 132: Cruz/Faber, Ortiz and Condit

UFC 132 delivered on an amazing set of fights, which makes writing this post even harder than usual. How do you pick out just three stars from the best card of the year? Here are Cagewriter’s picks. Please post yours in the comments or on Facebook. There’s little chance for agreement after so many great performances.

No. 1 star — Tie between Dominick Cruz and Urijah Faber: At the end of their five-round, main-event bout, I didn’t want it to end. The two gave everything they had in the cage, giving a performance that earned the bantamweight division a legion of new fans. Cruz took the bout by landing more, but Faber had a claim on the win by landing more power strikes. Though Demetrious Johnson or Brian Bowles will likely serve as Cruz’s next opponent, this fight is begging for a rematch.

No. 2 star — Tito Ortiz: With his job on the line, Ortiz snapped his five-fight winless streak and showed that he does still belong in the UFC. Perhaps his injuries were holding him back, or the change in training camp really did make a difference in his preparation. Whatever the reason, a re-energized Ortiz showed up in the Octagon on Saturday night. This one reminded us of the legend who helped build the UFC.

No. 3 star — Carlos Condit: Yes, Chris Leben took out Wanderlei Silva, but the Axe Murderer hadn’t fought in 16 months. Likewise, Melvin Guillard put on a show against Shane Roller, showing off his speed and then knocking Roller out, but that was over a fighter with two losses. Condit stands out for two reasons: One, he beat a previously unbeaten fighter which set him up for a possible welterweight title shot. Secondly, his flying knee-KO was so good that he had the boss still talking about it the next day. Dana White tweeted on Sunday afternoon, “@CarlosCondit still blown away by ur performance last nite!!!!!”

Now talk to us in the comment section or on Facebook. Who were your Three Stars?


Min Soo Kim Dong Hyun Kim Kevin Knabjian John Kolosci Cheick Kongo Josh Koscheck Pascal Krauss Keigo Kunihara Mike Kyle Achmed Labasanov

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.